ios-11-logo

Apple let us know at the September 12 Keynote event that the iOS 11 OTA update will be this month itself. More specifically on September 19. That is today. That is a big day for iOS fans, where pretty much all eligible devices get OTA updates within days of the final release. Speaking about eligible devices, the list is here.

Apple iPhone 7, 7 Plus, 6s, 6s Plus, 6, 6 Plus, 5s and SE. The 9.7, 10.5 and 12.9-inch iPad Pros. The fifth-generation iPad, Air 2, Air, mini 4, 3, 2, and last but not least, the iPod Touch (6th generation).

The iOS 10 devices that won’t get the latest iOS 11 are the old iPhone 5, iPhone 5c and the 4th-gen iPad. The next question is, when am I getting it in India? Well, the answer is Apple releases OS updates at 10 AM Pacific Time. We expect Apple to stick to that time frame. And corresponding to that time Indian iPhone users should get it around 10:30 PM today.

iOS 11 OTA rollout timings across the globe

PT (Los Angeles, San Francisco) 10:00 AM

BST (London, Dublin) 6:00 PM

CEST (Paris, Berlin) 7:00 PM

MST (Moscow) 8:00 PM

IST (New Delhi) 10:30 PM

CST (Beijing, Shanghai) 1:00 AM, September 20

JST (Tokyo) 2:00 AM, September 20

Now we already know what iOS 11 brings to the table. As all the features have been demoed at the WWDC 2017 worldwide on June 5. Still, the main features include AR, a redesigned App Store, Portrait Mode, a more evolved Siri, Apple Pay Cash and a ton of iPad related productivity features. Although, paying and receiving cash in Messages app via Apple Wallet isn’t ready yet. But it will be pushed through an update by the end of the year.